Ah summertime. The living is easy, the cotton is high and the beach holidays are rife. Nothing says “sunshine and other summery stuff” quite like the Vengaboys. However contrary to popular belief, their timeless pop hit ‘We’re Going To Ibiza’ has nothing to do with any of this.

The oft repeated line “Ooh we’re going to Ibiza” is in fact a euphemistic term for entering into a period of existential personal crisis, along the same lines as your cat “going to a farm” when you were 6 was a euphemism for it being taken to the vet to be euthanised. Your cat’s dead Tom, stop pulling over at every farm you drive past and shouting “Helen!” until your throat gets sore and you end up crying in a hedge.

Heading back to the Vengaboys, “Venga” is the imperative form of “Ir” meaning “to go” in Spanish, so they are in essence called Go-boys. Herein lies the source of internal angst, the continuous drive towards moving forward conflicting with the mundanity and stasis that can take hold at any point in life.

The first verse begins with a career crisis that I’m sure we’ve all felt at some point when you’re in a job and it’s pretty chill, but you’re not sure if it’s quite the dream.

“I don’t wanna be a bus driver all my life”

The speaker can see where this train of thought is headed, but knows little can be done to stop it. Before they know it, they’re flying high buffeted by the winds of existential crisis.

“I’m gonna pack my bags and leave this town
Grab a flight
Fly away on Venga airways
Fly me high”

Don’t get me wrong I like driving buses, but I don’t want to end up doing it forever. What if I’d like driving lorries more? Where might I be if I hadn’t given up on my dream of being a concert flautist? Sometimes it feels like there was a point in life where anything could happen, so then once you actually start on a certain path you’re blocking off other options and I know that that’s not necessarily the case but a lot of the time it can be because then you have to really push yourself to make a decision, make a change or risk being stagnant forever and I don’t want to get to 65 and feel that I’ve wasted my life because what am I achieving really? Do any of us ever ‘achieve’ anything in the grand scheme of things? We’re just floating through the vast uncaring universe on a watery blob of rock so does anything really matter ever?

Whoah! We’re going to Ibiza
Whoah! Back to the island
Whoah! We’re going to Ibiza
Whoah! We’re gonna have party
Whoah! In the Mediterranean sea

But if nothing matters then in a sense everything matters, every small moment of joy is means nothing if it isn’t meaningful to me so I may as well appreciate wonder and happiness when I glance upon it. Make changes, take chances because it doesn’t matter and the universe doesn’t care but I do and the universe only exists for me as long as I have a mind and body to perceive it so fuck it, fuck it all, live life because ultimately none of it matters in the grand scheme of things it only matters to you.

*dance break*

Leave a Reply

